Skip to content

Russian flights banned from Norwegian airspace

Commencing 28 February 2022, from 09:15 CET, Russian flights have been banned from using Norwegian airspace.

The regulations can be found here.

As a consequence of the restrictions, aircraft that the restrictions apply for, are not permitted to fly to/from or over Svalbard, Jan Mayen and the Norwegian mainland. The restricted area also includes the airspace over the Norwegian territorial waters (the sea area from the Norwegian baseline and 12 nautical miles). Between the restricted areas that have been established there is international airspace where all aircraft have the opportunity to operate, including Russian aircraft.

The restrictions apply to all aircraft operated by Russian air carriers, including marketing carriers in code-sharing or blocked-space arrangements, or for any Russian registered aircraft, or any non-Russian-registered aircraft that are owned or chartered or otherwise controlled by any Russian natural or legal person, entity or body. A NOTAM (Notice to airmen) has been issued.

Upon application to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, an exemption from this ban may be granted to, for example, humanitarian flights. Emergency landings are not subject to a ban.

Other restrictive measures in the field of aviation

It is prohibited to sell, supply, transfer or export, directly or indirectly, goods and technology suited for use in the aviation industry, to any natural or legal person, entity or body in Russia or for use in Russia.

It is prohibited to provide any one or any combination of the following activities: overhaul, repair, inspection, replacement, modification or defect rectification of an aircraft or component, with the exception of pre-flight inspection, directly or indirectly, to any natural or legal person, entity or body in Russia or for use in Russia.

The restrictive measures follow from the regulations adopted 18 March 2022. The regulations can be found here